Tags

, ,

EliAs heaven’s apostate Archangel, Eli can basically be whatever he wants to be, wherever he wants to be it. However, I like playing him with a bit of a sense of humor.

We know that he loves the arts, flits from place to place, and was there at the very creation of mankind. He kind of had to be, creation is his thing. So, as with David, I prefer Eli to have African features unless there’s currently a reason for him to do otherwise.

So given that I want him to have a sense of humor, what if he were doing his whole “hiding” thing out in plain sight?

At first I couldn’t think of a world-class touring artist of African descent who was named Eli. But last year I heard this song while attending a Jewish Folk Chorus concert.

The song made me realize that if I switched from the English to the Hebrew pronunciation, there was a perfect fit.

Now if I want to figure out where Eli is, I just look here. He may or may not be part of the company itself, but if it’s in town I will make it just a little bit easier for his Servitors to Invoke him.

And now for another fun little tidbit: Eli left heaven in 1957, the Alvin Ailey dance troupe was founded in 1958.

