Tags

, , ,

As you’ve probably figured out by now, I’m a big fan of soundtracks for tabletop games. This month I got a little surprise. Carolyn at Sisters in Geek posted a soundtrack for Taina Blackeye – a character from a Fantasy Age game she takes part in.

If you just want the music you can find it on Spotify.

But for some context…


Fantasy Age

Fantasy Age is Green Ronin’s d20 fantasy remix. Like most d20 games, it will feel familiar to anyone who has played D&D 3.0 – if just a touch more lethal.

Instead of hit points, any attack can be lethal – though some are more likely to kill than others.

notes

I should mention, Opus is not my world. However, I would love to play in a game set here.

Opus

Taina Blackeye lives on the world of Opus – a proprietary world not found in any map or manual. It is a world built and rebuilt by magic.

Right now necromancers are in ascendancy and anyone without a gift for magic is seen as little better than a zombie, no matter what their origins.

A Story in Song

Rather than recount the Tale of Taina Blackeye – I will share the songs that Carolyn has picked out and some words she has shared with me about each of them.

Hopeless Wanderer (Mumford & Sons)

Taina has no home she can return to, no family, no place to call her own. But there is a certain joy in that freedom too. “I will learn to love the skies I’m under.”

Codex (Radiohead)

This song has a lot of Carolyn bleeding in. However, its atmospheric, evocative tone is just what it’s like inside Taina’s head when she’s experiencing her brief moments free of anger.

Come Away to the Water (Maroon 5)

What her family did. Being sold, almost sacrificed to the gods for her imperfection. Trust betrayed as her own father lead her away to the Osari slave market.

If the Breakman Turns my Way (Bright Eyes)

Finding her own way. Survival, despair. Searching for purpose and the magic that should have been hers. Longing for the gods, but she can’t hear them. “I tried to pass for nothing, but my dreams gave me away.”

Broken Crown (Mumford & Sons)

Taina is just so angry and feels so lost. Crying out to the gods she knows are real and have forsaken her. Raging. Afraid. She serves no master but her own mind.

Lonely Ghosts (O+S)

More in the same theme. Taina’s ghosts follow her, no matter how far she runs. At every crossroads, she hears them. Also, this song captures the sadness of Taina. Under the anger and outer calm is a deep grief that never recedes.

Method Acting (Bright Eyes)

pollyfishless

The “new people” are the party – and Taina’s lying.

These new people? What they don’t know, well, they don’t need to know. The mask must stay on always. She’s just a hired merc, attached to this party for the payout. Nothing more. She’s definitely not getting attached or making friends or letting herself care.

Everybody Wants to Rule the World (Lorde)

Things are getting weird. Taina never intended to step into a war. She was just on a mission to find an artifact. Saving the world?

Not what she signed up for.

Lover’s Eyes (Mumford & Sons)

pollyfishless

No. Seriously.
Don’t ask.

“But do not ask the price I paid,
I must live with my quiet rage,
Tame the ghosts in my head,
That run wild and wish me dead.”

Master Pretender (First Aid Kit)

Self explanatory. Taina can don the necessary personality for almost any moment. As long as she doesn’t need magic to do it.

Running Up That Hill (Placebo)

A song for FIGHTING.

Call and Response

What did you think of this list? The vignettes? Do you think you’ve got a feel for Taina Blackeye?

I’d be glad to discuss any of these songs here, but if you like what you saw and heard you should really check out Sisters in Geek.

