Tags

, ,

In Nomine has often struck me as a singularly good game for tackling the thorny subject of gender – but I have never quite built up the nerve to do so. Here’s a look at a game purpose built for the subject.

 

Samara Hayley Steele

This talk was presented as part of the Social Studies of Live Action Role-Playing Games conference held at the European University of St. Petersburg on December 8th-9th, 2016.  A full transcript may be found below.


My name is Samara Hayley Steele, and it is an honor to be here, albeit digitally, at the Social Studies of Live Action Role-Playing Games academic conference at the European University of St. Petersburg. Thank you very much for inviting me to speak. The name of my talk is “Game Design Methodologies for Gender Playability: A Case Study of Thermophiles in Love.”

Thermophiles in Love was a game I helped design, but before we talk about that, I first want to say a few words about what I mean when I talk about Gender Playability. Basically, I’m thinking about the way we render all sorts of things playable when we design larp. In a lot of…

View original post 2,481 more words

